How to buy a motorcycle in Utah can be a little tricky.
It’s easy to get into trouble for not wearing a helmet, but if you’re going to go that route, you may want to know how to get an approved permit from the Utah Highway Patrol.
That’s because the department requires motorcycle operators to wear helmets.
It also requires them to wear a face shield.
“It’s not a perfect requirement,” said Bill McDonough, director of motorcycle safety and enforcement at the Utah Department of Transportation.
“The motorcycle industry is not going to be the same without helmets.”
Motorcycle riders should get a license in order to use the roads, McDonoug said.
The process for getting a motorcycle operator’s license is complicated, and the process can be time-consuming.
The license requires the operator to pass a physical exam, pass an assessment on their motorcycle operation and be at least 21 years old.
The examiner may also check the license and make a report to the Utah DOT about the operation.
The license is also required for the operator of a motorcycle that is registered in Utah.
The motorcycle permit process in Utah requires the license to be displayed on a motorcycle.
The driver must be wearing a motorcycle helmet, and must also pass a motorcycle safety assessment and safety education course.
If the license is revoked, the license will be lost.
The Utah DOT also requires motorcycle owners to pay a $10 fee for the motorcycle operator license.
It costs $3 for a motorcycle driver’s license, and $20 for an instructor’s license.
The state also requires the motorcycle operators license to include a photo ID card with a picture of a registered Utah motorcyclist.
“If you are riding a motorcycle with a motorcyclists license, you have a responsibility to be sure that you are not the type of person who can be in a situation where you get involved in a collision,” McDonogh said.
In a statement, the Utah state highway patrol said that there are certain factors that make it difficult to get the motorcycle permit, including having a previous motorcycle accident or conviction and having not completed the required safety training.
Utah has seen a dramatic rise in motorcycle accidents over the past few years.
Last year, there were 5,717 motor vehicle collisions.
Utah is the second most dangerous state in the nation for motor vehicle accidents, according to a study by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
In addition to the toll of injuries and fatalities, the costs of motorcycle accidents are often a barrier to people who want to ride a motorcycle, Mcdonough said.
He said it’s important to remember that motorcycle riders should not get behind the wheel of a motorbike without first getting a permit.
“In Utah, there is a motorcycle motorcyclism license,” Mcdonogh said, “and it’s not mandatory.
If you are driving a motorcycle and are doing something reckless, you will be held accountable.
There is a penalty for not following the rules.”
Motorcyclists can apply to renew their motorcycle permit.
Utah drivers can renew their license for an additional $100 fee.
The DMV will issue a motorcycle learner permit for $35.
If you have questions about Utah motorcycle licensing, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles at 944-444-5836 or go to http://www.dmv.utah.gov/motorcycles/index.htm.
Follow me on Twitter: @jamesfkirst